Battling the Black Dog

I’ve suffered with depression to one degree or another for some years now.

Probably more than I’d care to admit.

The last couple of years have been particularly hard and have put a strain on all aspects of my life.

The Black Dog has loomed large over everything I’ve done and has not been a benevolent observer.

The support and understanding of my cherished and much loved partner, and the kindness of a few close friends, has helped me work through it. As have the drugs and therapy!

Coming to the end of 2014 I feel more able to cope with the darkness that still tries to push its way into my life, more able to push back – hard – and let the light in.

Bad moods and anger are slowly fading; at least I feel they are. I may check on that. (I’ve been told yes).

We are six in total, my family and I, and with that comes a lot of love and fun and laughter, lots of hugs and snuggles, toys to play with, stories to tell, places to explore and so much to learn!

My imagination and enthusiasm are fired up for the New Year.

My 2015 is going to be amazing!

I hope yours is too.

Leave a Reply

