Time

I don’t know where it went.

Do you?

If found, please return any unused time to me.

“Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so.” Douglas Adams

A lot has happened since I last posted on here.

A large percentage of the great British public came out in a show of complete apathy by not voting at all in the general election. More people didn’t vote than voted Conservative!

Do these people really not give a shit?

Whatever happens over the next five years they have absolutely no right to complain. If they can’t be bothered to make their voices heard, why should anyone listen to them when they start to moan?

“Ticking away, the moments that make a dull day.” Pink Floyd

No dull days for me. Three kids birthdays since the new year. 8, 6 and 1, and a fourth next month, 4.

I’ve taken up archery with Southsea Archery Club. http://www.southseaarcheryclub.com/home.html

If you’re in Portsmouth and want to give it a try their beginner course is just the thing.

“Hickory dickory dock, the mouse ran up the clock.” traditional

I’ve had three short stories accepted for two anthology volumes.

More on those as they appear.

“Time is a drug. Too much of it kills you.” Terry Pratchett

And we lost Terry. There were tears when I heard that he’d gone.

Anyone who had ever shared a moment in his company must have felt a twinge in their heart that this great writer, this great human being had left early to avoid the rush.

I had the pleasure of spending a few hours alongside him at a signing one day.

He was mid ‘Small Gods’ tour and was having to rely on frozen peas to sooth his swollen wrist. That’s how much signing he’d done already.

I had been stuck on a till to grab the cash before anyone got their book signed. The idiot management had placed the till on the table he was signing on. Every time I did something, the table wobbled and shook. I apologised, and he responded loudly that it wasn’t my fault. That the money grabbing management were to blame. The next few hours were balancing act between him signing and me working the till.

I watched him work bloody hard that day. Hundreds and hundreds of people turned up to meet him and I watched him talk to every one of them.

Neil Gaiman recently said Terry was angry, that that’s what fuelled him. He was certainly grumpy that day! But polite all the time with his fans. He really did appreciate every single one of them.

He was a great man and he is sorely missed.

Leave a Reply

